You are here

    • You are here:
    • Home > 2015 ESAS Award for Excellence in Applied Superconductivity - Call for Nominations

2015 ESAS Award for Excellence in Applied Superconductivity - Call for Nominations

November 10, 2014 (A276).  The European Society for Applied Superconductivity (ESAS) seeks nominations for the ESAS AWARD 2015, which will be awarded at the European Conference on Applied Superconductivity (EUCAS) 2015 in Lyon, subject to the nomination of an appropriate candidate, to an individual without age restriction to "recognise excellence in advancing the knowledge of applied superconductivity over the past five years". The award will be announced in the regular ESAS (European Society for Applied Superconductivity) communications and will be presented to the award winner during EUCAS 2015 in Lyon.
Nominations can be made by anyone in the field. The principal nomination will consist of a (one to two pages) letter addressed to the Awards Committee Chairman and contain a comprehensive description of the candidate's sustained and significant contributions to the field of applied superconductivity and technology. A CV and a publication list of the candidate should be attached, together with the candidate´s detailed contact information.
The principal nomination letter will address in detail:
  • The quality of the candidate's research performed over the past five years;
  • The international recognition gained for the candidate's work over the past five years;
  • The candidate's impact on the field over the past five years.
Specific indicators of excellence and suitability for the award include, but are not limited to;
  •  The first time application of a new experimental or theoretical technique;
  •  Demonstration of key fundamental insight that impacts multiple levels of the application of any material form of superconductor;
  •  Synthesis or fabrication of a new material, or development of a new synthesis or fabrication process;
  •  The development of novel, innovative concepts and new devices that utilizes superconductivity or superconducting technology;
  •  The authorship or co-authorship of well-cited publications of major significance in peer-reviewed technical or scientific journals.
Two further letters of support, in addition to the principal nomination, will also be required to qualify the candidate for the selection procedure. The principal nominator will be responsible for obtaining the additional letters of support. The candidate must necessarily be active in the field. ESAS Board members are especially encouraged to nominate.
The nominations will be evaluated by the Awards Committee, which will consist of six members of the ESAS Board, including the Chairman, of which two members will be chosen to represent the EUCAS theme areas of Materials, Electronics, and Large Scale Applications. Each member will rank the candidates (1st choice, 2nd choice, etc.) and communicate his/her ranking to the Committee Chairman. The result of this procedure will be discussed among the Committee members and communicated to the Board, whose endorsement of the selection (majority of Board members) is required. Current members of the ESAS Board are not eligible for the award.
The award consists of:
  •  a certificate signed by the ESAS President;
  •  a check for € 5,000;
  •  a plaque;
  •  an invitation to the award winner to attend EUCAS (travel expenses and accommodation, up to €1,000), and waived conference fees for the conference.
  •  an invitation to give a plenary presentation at the conference at which the award is made.
Completed nominations must be submitted by Sunday, May 31, 2015 to:

Prof. Herbert Freyhardt
Chairman of the ESAS award selection committee, which presently consists of Herbert Freyhardt and David Cardwell for Materials, Lucio Rossi and Marcel ter Brake for Large Scale, and Paul Seidel and Pascal Febvre for Electronics.
contact Herbert Freyhardt at
Tel. +49-(0)551-309 7223
Fax +49-(0)551-309 7225
Tel. +49-(0)551-79 15 79
Fax +49-(0)551-79 54 21