You are here

    • You are here:
    • Home > 2017 IEEE Max Swerdlow Awardee Announced

2017 IEEE Max Swerdlow Awardee Announced

July 28, 2017. The Council on Superconductivity is pleased to announce the selection of Dr. Kenichi Sato of Japan Science and Technology Agency, to receive the IEEE Max Swerdlow Award for Sustained Service to the Applied Superconductivity Community. This IEEE Award recognizes a career of meritorious achievements and outstanding technical contributions by a living individual in the field of applied superconductivity.

The Award will be presented to Dr. Sato during the 25th International Conference on Magnet Technology to be held in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, from August 27 through September 1, 2017. Dr. Sato will receive a plaque, an inscribed medallion, and a cash award of US $5,000.


Dr. Sato will be recognized for sustained service to the applied superconductivity community, in particular:   
  • for developing magnet-grade HTS wires and their applications to power cables, magnets and motors (1988-2016),
  • for serving as Secretary of IEC/TC90 (1989-2013), Program Officer of JST (2009-present) and Co-Editor of Superconductivity News Forum (2014-present), and
  • for serving as President of the Cryogenics and Superconductivity Society of Japan (2012-2016), and a Board Member of ICMC (2001-present).
Kenichi Sato
Dr. Kenichi Sato
Descriptions of the Award and past laureates are found on the web at